

## TITLE IX COUNCIL

July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2025

## **Purpose:**

The Title IX Council consists of fair and impartial decision-makers who will conduct an objective evaluation of all relevant evidence, including both inculpatory or exculpatory evidence. From this Council, an Ad Hoc Hearing Committee ("AHHC") consisting of five (5) Faculty Members will be convened to adjudicate a formal resolution process under the Process for Resolving Reports Against Faculty.

## **Functions:**

The Title IX Council was created as part of the Sexual and Gender-Based Misconduct Policy approved by the four faculties and the Board of Trustees in June 2019 and made effective September 1 of 2019. The Title IX Council and Ad Hoc Hearing Committee (AHHC) is charged with resolving reports of sexual misconduct against Faculty members.

All members of the Title IX Council will have received appropriate training to participate as informed and impartial decision-makers; this training will include the content provided to investigators, as well training on any technology to be used at a live hearing and on issues of relevance of questions and evidence, including questions about prior sexual history.

In a formal resolution process, the members of the Title IX Council chosen to constitute an Ad Hoc Hearing Committee are expected:

- (1) To provide all parties with an equitable opportunity to be heard.
- (2) To serve as a safeguard on the reliability and accuracy of the investigative process.
- (3) To give appropriate consideration to victim impact and mitigating factors.
- (4) To reach a full and fair determination of any sanction, should there be a finding of responsibility.

## Membership:

The Title IX Council shall consist of twenty-four members of the General Faculty, including fifteen members from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and three members from each of the other three faculties, serving staggered three-year terms. The chair shall be appointed by the President from among the members.

Name Name	Membership	Term End Date
Katherine Mirica	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2025
Robert Hawley	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2025
Mary Lou Guerinot, <b>Chair</b>	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2025
Eric Zitzewitz	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2025
Russ Muirhead	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2025
Monica Ndounou	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Udi Greenberg	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2026



Jeffrey Sharlet	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Melissa Zieger	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Carolyn Dever	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Zahra Ayubi	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2027
Anne Gelb	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2027
Tor Wager	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2027
Marc Dixon	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2027
Jonathan Zinman	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2027
TBD	Geisel faculty member	
Evadne (Evie) Marcolini	Geisel faculty member	June 30, 2025
Lauren Wilson	Geisel faculty member	June 30, 2026
Benoit Cushman-Roisin	Thayer faculty member	June 30, 2027
John Zhang	Thayer faculty member	June 30, 2025
George Cybenko	Thayer faculty member	June 30, 2026
Lauren Lu	Tuck faculty member	June 30, 2027
Jim Smith	Tuck faculty member	June 30, 2025
Syd Finkelstein	Tuck faculty member	June 30, 2026
Sarah Harebo	Convener	Role-Based