

TITLE IX COUNCIL

July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024

Purpose:

The Title IX Council consists of fair and impartial decision-makers who will conduct an objective evaluation of all relevant evidence, including both inculpatory or exculpatory evidence. From this Council, an Ad Hoc Hearing Committee ("AHHC") consisting of five (5) Faculty Members will be convened to adjudicate a formal resolution process under the Process for Resolving Reports Against Faculty.

Functions:

The Title IX Council was created as part of the Sexual and Gender-Based Misconduct Policy approved by the four faculties and the Board of Trustees in June 2019 and made effective September 1 of 2019. The Title IX Council and Ad Hoc Hearing Committee (AHHC) is charged with resolving reports of sexual misconduct against Faculty members.

All members of the Title IX Council will have received appropriate training to participate as informed and impartial decision-makers; this training will include the content provided to investigators, as well training on any technology to be used at a live hearing and on issues of relevance of questions and evidence, including questions about prior sexual history.

In a formal resolution process, the members of the Title IX Council chosen to constitute an Ad Hoc Hearing Committee are expected:

- 1. To provide all parties with an equitable opportunity to be heard.
- 2. To serve as a safeguard on the reliability and accuracy of the investigative process.
- 3. To give appropriate consideration to victim impact and mitigating factors.
- 4. To reach a full and fair determination of any sanction, should there be a finding of responsibility.

Membership:

The Council on Sponsored Activities shall consist of the Provost, the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, the Director of Sponsored Projects, the General Counsel, the Deans of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences the three Professional Schools, and the School of Graduate and Advanced Studies, or their duly appointed representatives, and two members appointed by the Steering Committee from the faculties of the Professional Schools, and two members from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences delegated from the voting membership of the Committee on the Faculty. The chair shall be appointed by the President from among the members.

| Name Erich Osterberg | Membership A&S Faculty member | Term End Date June 30, 2024 |
|-------------------------|----------------------------------|--------------------------------|
| Craig Sutton | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| Emily Walton | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| Leslie Butler | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| Andrea Tarnowski | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| Katherine Merica | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
| Robert Hawley | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
| Mary Lou Guerniot | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2025 |



| Eric Zitzewitz | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
|---------------------------|-----------------------|---------------|
| Russ Muirhead | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
| Monica Ndounou | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Udi Greenberg | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Jeffrey Sharlet | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Melissa Zieger | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Carolyn Dever | A&S Faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Jack Hoopes, Chair | Geisel faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| Evadne (Evie) Marcolini | Geisel faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
| Lauren Wilson | Geisel faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Benoit Cushman-Roisin | Thayer faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| John Zhang | Thayer faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
| George Cybenko | Thayer faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Punam Keller | Tuck faculty member | June 30, 2024 |
| Jim Smith | Tuck faculty member | June 30, 2025 |
| Syd Finkelstein | Tuck faculty member | June 30, 2026 |
| Kristi Clemens | Convener | Role-Based |