

COUNCIL ON INSTITUTIONAL PRIORITIES (CIPr)

July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025

Purpose:

To formulate, articulate, and promote Dartmouth Faculty priorities in relation to the allocation of resources, the objectives on which resource allocation is based, and those commitments or expenditures that have significant budgetary effects. To participate in budgetary discussions concerning Dartmouth Faculty and the institution as a whole.

Functions:

- 1. To consult on administrative goals and institutional resource planning, by reviewing existing and preliminary budget and resource allocations over multiple fiscal years.
- 2. To meet with the President and Provost to discuss Dartmouth Faculty priorities within the larger context of institutional goals and budget allocations.
- 3. To meet with the deans of A&S, Tuck, Thayer, Geisel, Guarini, and the College to discuss needs of their constituent units and personnel.
- 4. To advise the President and Provost and form recommendations after reviewing detailed data relevant to all categories of the Central budget, including historical data and FTE numbers.
- 5. To make recommendations to the Provost on budgetary priorities for centrally-funded services that are shared across the institution.
- 6. To constitute, maintain, and oversee subcommittees as needed.
- 7. To consult with other councils and committees of the faculty as needed.
- 8. To submit a report to the General Faculty at the end of each academic year.

Membership:

The Council on Institutional Priorities shall consist of the Provost (ex officio); the Executive Vice President (ex officio); the Chief Financial Officer (ex officio); four members of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (including at least one member of the Committee on Priorities), and one faculty member from each of the professional and graduate schools (Tuck, Thayer, Geisel, and Guarini), serving staggered three-year terms. Faculty members will be chosen by the Deans of their respective units according to their respective governance procedures. The Chair of the Council will be a faculty member chosen by the Provost.

<u>Name</u>	<u>Membership</u>	Term End Date
David Kotz	Provost	Role-based
Jomysha Stephen	Executive Vice President	Role-based
Scott Frew	Chief Financial Officer	Role-based
Erich Osterberg	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2027
Jim Feyrer, Chair	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Colleen Boggs	A&S Faculty member	June 30, 2025
James Stanford	A&S Faculty member, CPr Representative	June 30, 2025
Hart Posen	Tuck Faculty member	June 30, 2026
John Zhang	Thayer Faculty member	June 30, 2027
Mary Jo Turk	Geisel Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Charlie Barlow	Guarini Faculty member	June 30, 2025