

## **COUNCIL ON INSTITUTIONAL PRIORITIES (CIPr)**

July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2024

## **Purpose:**

To formulate, articulate, and promote Dartmouth Faculty priorities in relation to the allocation of resources, the objectives on which resource allocation is based, and those commitments or expenditures that have significant budgetary effects. To participate in budgetary discussions concerning Dartmouth Faculty and the institution as a whole.

## **Functions:**

- 1. To consult on administrative goals and institutional resource planning, by reviewing existing and preliminary budget and resource allocations over multiple fiscal years.
- 2. To meet with the President and Provost to discuss Dartmouth Faculty priorities within the larger context of institutional goals and budget allocations.
- 3. To meet with the deans of A&S, Tuck, Thayer, Geisel, Guarini, and the College to discuss needs of their constituent units and personnel.
- 4. To advise the President and Provost, form recommendations on all categories of the Central budget, including historical data and FTE numbers, and other recommendations as needed.
- 5. To make recommendations to the Provost on budgetary priorities for centrally-funded services that are shared across the institution.
- 6. To constitute, maintain, and oversee subcommittees as needed.
- 7. To consult with other councils and committees of the faculty as needed.
- 8. To submit a report to the General Faculty at the end of each academic year.

## Membership:

The Council on Institutional Priorities shall consist of the Provost (ex officio); the Executive Vice President (ex officio); the Chief Financial Officer (ex officio); four members of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (including at least one member of the Committee on Priorities), and one faculty member from each of the professional and graduate schools (Tuck, Thayer, Geisel, and Guarini), serving staggered three-year terms. Faculty members will be chosen by the Deans of their respective units according to their respective governance procedures. The Chair of the Council will be a faculty member chosen by the Provost.

<u>Membership</u>	Term End Date
Guarini Faculty member	June 30, 2025
Geisel Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Tuck Faculty member	June 30, 2026
Thayer Faculty member	June 30, 2024
COP (Faculty of A&S)	June 30, 2024
COP (Faculty of A&S)	June 30, 2026
COP (Faculty of A&S)	June 30, 2025
COP (Faculty of A&S), CPr Representative	June 30, 2025
Provost	Role-based
Executive Vice President	Role-based
Chief Financial Officer	Role-based
	Guarini Faculty member Geisel Faculty member Tuck Faculty member Thayer Faculty member COP (Faculty of A&S) COP (Faculty of A&S) COP (Faculty of A&S) COP (Faculty of A&S) Executive Vice President